Day 1

I’ve been into ‘juice cleanses’ for a few years now and have done a handful of 3-day ones with no problem (infact I actually enjoy doing them)…but come day 4, I am ready, and quite excited to eat again. In the last year or so I’ve really been struggling with a few health problems. First, I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism, which I am trying to manage with medicine, but even with the medicine, I still struggle with low energy and have gained about 20 lbs (ugh). In addition to my thyoid disorder, I have also been having flare ups of psoriasis in my scalp, and all over my body, which makes me very self-conscious, especially now that the weather is getting warmer. I have found that it is nearly impossible to cure psoriasis without very strong and potentially dangerous drugs, which I have chosen not to take. A few months ago I watched Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead on Netflix and was truly inspired by Joe Cross and his journey. I did a 7-day juice cleanse and it was tough, but by the 7-day mark, my psoriasis was noticeably better. Something in the back of my head kept telling me that I need to do another one, but go longer this time to really allow my body time to heal itself. Joe calls it a ‘reboot’ as opposed to a cleanse or detox, as you are literally rebooting your body. I’ve committed to doing 21 days, but am hoping to actually go 30. Yikes, that’s a long time without any food, but I’m ready and determined to do this. Here I go….oh, and by the way, I weighed in at 158 today. I’m only going to weigh myself once a week:)

