Young Coconut
Yesterday was a rough day. I would argue the most challenging day I’ve had yet. Maybe because it’s tough getting back into the swing of things after a long weekend. Maybe because my husband was done with his 7 day juice cleanse and was back to eating and I still have 2 weeks to go. Maybe because it’s rainy and dreary outside yet again (and cold!) All I know is yesterday I was tired, hungry and not feeling the juices! I ended up listening to my body and went to bed early and…

Today is Day 9 and I woke up feeling sooo much better! I’m back to having energy again (thank god!) I’m also really starting to notice changes in my body. My skin feels smoother, my break-outs have sub-sided, and my psoriasis seems to be getting better…very slowly though. And I finally can see that I’ve lost weight..beyond the ‘water weight’. One of my co-workers asked me yesterday what I was doing and told me I looked better than ever and was just glowing! I guess all this juicing is working:)

Next week (my last week!!!) I’m going to be more of a purist when it comes to my juices. My plan is to skip the nut milk, and drink only green juices (with the exception of 1 juice of my choice to keep me going and for something to look forward to). It’s going to be challenging, but I really want to get the most out of this experience and think that is the way to do it. On another note, have you ever had coconut water from a fresh young thai coconut? I’m not talking about the stuff in box/bottle. I’m talking about literally breaking open a young coconut and drinking fresh coconut water. If you haven’t ever had it, you are seriously missing out and I highly suggest you go out and get a young coconut to try. Depending on where you live, they can be a little difficult to find (we unfortunately don’t have palm trees in Chicago….) but they have young thai coconuts in the refridgerator section at Whole Foods and also our local grocery store, Marianos. Check out this video of how to open a coconut to get the water – it’s a little tricky, but you’ll get the hang of it! Coconut water contains lots of potassium and minerals, and is very hydrating. I’ve enjoyed one almost every day of my juice cleanse. It’s okay to drink the boxed stuff, but read the label to be sure there isn’t any added sugar. The water is already sweet enough. But i’m telling you, once you try the fresh stuff, you’ll never go back:) Cheers!

